Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who’s watching me, who should I call?

They’re watching me,
But who’s watching them?
This government surveillance
We need to stem,
What’s private to me
Is private to me,
And it’s not what I want
A government employee to see.

Will Scribe Surveilance 01The conversations I have
Why do they need to record?
Have they nothing to do
Are they getting bored?
My e-mails and texts
They also scan;
To control my life
Is there a plan?

What do they do
With their information haul?
As through my privacy
They constantly trawl;
My private life
Stored on a government file,
With my right to freedom
How does that reconcile?

It’s for national security,
That’s what they pretend,
But they take away the rights
That they claim to defend;
Your personal freedom
You can no longer enjoy,
As new methods to watch us
They continually employ.

This desire to watch everyone,
To record everything,
Caused them to miss 9/11
And that terrorist ring.
If their fetish for spying
Had been less intense,
They would have been more effective
In the nation’s defence!

At the end of the day
Our apathy’s to blame,
We used to be fighters,
But now we are tame;
We’re just too accepting
And we never ask why.
And when the government says jump,
All we ask is “How high?”

Will Scribe Image 11 Frame 01All Original Writings Are Copyright Protected
© Will Scribe 2015

Further Reading

A Story of Apathy – A Story of Today

“It’s a story of our apathy,
That I watch unfold,
I’ll write it in rhyme,
That’s how my stories are told;
It’s a story of how
We succumb to pretence,
And how fear and ignorance
Defeats common sense….”

Old Writer Read More 01A People of the Government

“Being controlled by the government,
Letting them pull my strings,
Is not on the list
Of my favourite things;
Having my privacy invaded,
My free speech corrected,
Must comply with their narrative
Or I’ll be suspected…..”

Old Writer Read More 01Join the Crusade – Fight the Dragons:

Will Scribe Dragon Slayer New Year 2014Old Writer Read More 01More from the Soapbox:

Will Scribe Soap BoxOld Writer Read More 01Will’s Scrapbook:

Will Scribe Dragaon and TeaOld Writer Read More 01